Coming out of my shell

Good morning everyone!

So I had mentioned that yesterday, on my 27th birthday, I was going to come out to my parents about being a transmale. Well I did! Long story short, they said they’d love me no matter what and that was pretty much that. 

I decided to write a small letter to them and have them all read it at the same time. I decided that writing a list would be a bit more fun than anything. I put on the list silly fun facts about me and at the end it said, “I am a transgender male.” 

I still have a few fears about acceptance still circling around inside. About how everyone will perceive me once I’m on T ect. But I think the process will be slow enough that it won’t be as much as of a shock.

On a great note, I spoke with my doctor (who is just a general family physician) and I can’t express how much I love this women. I went in blind not knowing how they felt about trans* persons and it turns out not only as she worked with pre and post but was more than willing to help me obtain my needed blood work to check everything out before I start T. But also is willing to help me get it once I get my Ok from my psychologist. And is also willing to work around to get my insurance to cover everything she can. 

Needless to say I had a pretty wicked good birthday. As nerve wracked and excited as I’ve been lately, this has been wonderful. I’m seeing my psychologist this morning and then I have my blood work done tomorrow morning. So hopefully a quiet calm weekend will come after this week.

And darn the mail I swear! I was really hoping my binder would of come by now! Where are you binder?! lol

Anyways, I hope everyone has a wonderful day! I’m off to get ready for my appointment. 

Take care!

Leave a Reply

