Irony at it’s best, or worst.

Want to hear something fucked up? DOJ (Department of Justice) made new declarations this year that protect transgender people when it comes to coverage and insurance. This took into effect July 18th.
My insurance has to cover my transition related surgeries now and can NOT deny me on the basis that I’m transgender.
I of course have to find a surgeon in my area that’s in my network for this to go through. I have the option to go to an out of network but that’s going to cost me money I don’t have.
I call this surgeon that works under Truman medical here in the KC Metro area. Her top results looked great and I was really leaning on her as my surgeon now.
My shoulder has been hurting a lot lately due to the fact I wear my binder 14-16 hours a day cause fuck my chest.
So I call her office to set up a consultation appointment. The lady says it’ll be $50 up front to make that appointment and I say in my head, “Oh.. well can’t pay for that now but in a few weeks maybe,” and then she goes on to say the dr doesn’t file trans surgeries with insurance. She didn’t say.. she didn’t accept insurance for any other surgery she did.. just trans ones.

What.. the.. fuck?

Like, I’m such a basket of emotions right now. It’s so ironic to me that I wait.. over 2 years to see if I can get insurance that covers trans surgeries because my family and I have been scraping by, living paycheck to paycheck for the last 5+ years so saving on a strict budget is freaking impossible.. and I FINALLY get insurance and they agree to cover it because of the new ruling.. and the one fucking Dr I found in my area that I like.. doesn’t fucking take insurance for TRANS?!

Can you tell I’m just utterly pissed off and dumbfounded?
I’m also seriously crushed right now. It hit me pretty hard when I heard that and then had a fellow transman tell me, “Well insurance should reimburse you!”
Oh, I’m sorry. Did you just assume that I had $7,500+ laying around to get surgery? Did you just.. assume that because you could, everyone can? Cause last I checked, I’ve been living on a strict budget so much so that we barely make food appear before we get paid again. Illness, car issues, my kids.. among just some of the few things that keep fucking up our chance to even save $50 for that consultation let alone seven fucking grand.

So there’s the irony. Get insurance to pay for my top surgery. Get told Dr doesn’t take my insurance because I’m trans.
Wonderful.

If my fucking transmission hadn’t gone out 3 weeks ago and my tax return wasn’t needed for a new car.. AGAIN.. I’d gladly just fucking pay for my surgery. But it looks like.. another year has to go by. Just fml.

Leave a Reply

