Here we go again…

I’ve began to ponder if I might be some sort of masochist. On some weird, subconscious level maybe. I must be, because I’m putting myself through the bureaucratic crap of trying to get my top surgery done again. Now, I say again because I’ve tried getting it covered once before and failed miserably. I made a couple posts on it towards the end of 2016 that you’re welcome to visit for more info.

I’ll save everyone though from me rehashing all of that and move forward.

So as some may know, I work at Target which is, on an insurance level, a trans friendly plan based company. The only issue with trying to get insurance and keeping it via retail is trying to keep the correct amount of hours to qualify for said insurance.

Now I hit qualification standards in August once I’d been there a whole year and then promptly moved to Spirit.
(Which btw was an absolute nightmare.. long story short, I became a scape goat for theft and left promptly).
Anywho, me returning to Target in November and with the new year bringing an extreme lack of hours to the whole store to work, I got the lovely letter saying I no longer qualify for insurance!
Thank the ACA and Obama for thinking ahead because they’ve saved my arse this time around. Because they instated a safety period from fallout on hours and qualifying stuff, I get to keep my insurance for 12 months from the time I qualified. So I’m guessing until August.

So in usual fashion, I’ve got my consult appointment next Monday with the same Dr I chose last time. I’ve got an app with my main physician the next day and come tomorrow I’ll be getting a hold of my psychologist to get an updated dated letter from her to all send to my insurance company.

I shouldn’t have to fight this time. There is a direct BOLD clause in there stating they cover transgender reassignment surgeries.
The ONLY thing I’m super worried about is the only paying 80% part.
Suppose I’ll deal with that thought when I come to that bridge.

I’ve already quit smoking/nicotine and have been free of that since January 18th. If all actually falls into place, I’ll be going in for top surgery sometime in early March.
So cross fingers for me folks. I’m so nervous again I’m having dreams about being nervous.

Besides all of that going on, I’ll update my pictures with the most recent. Got some new glasses today 😀

As always, I hope everyone is doing well and I’ll catch you next time!

1111127972166_10215252055916923_6651661899566486169_n

Leave a comment